For the Love of Books | Currently Reading April 2022

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee | Kindle | I don't remember why I didn't read this when it was first published, but it was always going to be a certainty after seeing To Kill a Mockingbird. I was shocked when a major character from TKAMB was killed off without real explanation within the … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading April 2022

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading March 2022

Reading seemed to be low down on my To Do list throughout March. 😦 One Night On The Island by Josie Silver | Paperback: I mentioned this last month but as I didn't finish it until earlier this month, I'm mentioning it again. Finlay Donovan is Killing It by Elle Cosimano | Paperback: Murder mystery … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading March 2022

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading February 2022

The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel | paperback | I began this on 27th January, Holocaust Memorial Day, as it felt appropriate | an early contender for favourite read of the year. Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France ... Harmel reimagines their story. Perfect for readers of The Tattooist … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading February 2022

Popular Books I Didn’t Enjoy At All

You know that thing where you read a book and think “This is rubbish” and then see reviews on your favourite book blogs and realise, “Oh, apparently I’m on my own here.” Or the extremely awkward thing where someone recommends a book that is the best book ever and so you read it and you think it … Continue reading Popular Books I Didn’t Enjoy At All

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading January 2022

Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn | Kindle | An easy-read rom-com, perfect for curling up with during these dreary Winter days. While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart | Kindle | A mother makes a heartbreaking choice in a story of love and courage during World War 2. You will be on tenterhooks. You will cry. … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading January 2022

For the Love of Books | Favourite Reads of 2021

There wasn't a stand out favourite amongst all the books I read last year, no equivalent of Eleanor or Daisy, but I still have six titles that I'd encourage you to read. The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth | A multi-layered story about a quirky librarian struggling with social functioning read in May 2021. Where … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Favourite Reads of 2021

For the Love of Books | Titles on Pre-Order

I’ve a number of books on pre-order – more than enough titles to see me through many more months of Covid uncertainty. 🙂 Please note that the release dates are for the UK – other countries may well have a different one. Ooh, look ... the new anything to do with books and reading photo … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Titles on Pre-Order

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading December 2021

I finally finished Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone by Diana Gabaldon just before Christmas. 🙂 Beginner's Luck by Kate Clayborn (Kindle): I saw this recommended by Mrs Darcy and found it the prefect light read over Christmas. 🙂 Clayborn also wrote Love at First. I received three books as Christmas gifts, more … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading December 2021

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading November 2021

I didn't read many books this month, but that's not to say I didn't do a lot of reading. 🙂 Much Ado About You by Samantha Young (Kindle): An American moves to the English countryside to run a bookstore? Yes please. The small town cast of characters and dishy male lead are beautifully drawn; it’s hard not … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading November 2021