Exploring Jersey Through The Pages of a Book

Have you ever gone somewhere or eaten something simply because you read about it in a book? I did that in Jersey. Well, it was actually several places and one new-to-us food, and as we did them on my birthday, my guys grinned and bore it (bared it?). 🙂 I first read Just Haven't Met … Continue reading Exploring Jersey Through The Pages of a Book

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading May 2022

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin | Kindle | This is an uplifting, feel-good novel which whisks the reader through a whole range of emotions before building to a climax that ties things off just perfectly. I knew I was going to like it a few pages in when AJ, the irascible … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading May 2022

What Are Your Core Childhood Memories?

I read a great post on Cup of Jo recently all about childhood memories - the comments were the very best part of the post. And that got me thinking, what were mine, my core childhood memories? Collating and reading the Maggie and Kay letters has meant I've been thinking about my childhood a lot … Continue reading What Are Your Core Childhood Memories?

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading April 2022

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee | Kindle | I don't remember why I didn't read this when it was first published, but it was always going to be a certainty after seeing To Kill a Mockingbird. I was shocked when a major character from TKAMB was killed off without real explanation within the … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading April 2022

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading March 2022

Reading seemed to be low down on my To Do list throughout March. 😦 One Night On The Island by Josie Silver | Paperback: I mentioned this last month but as I didn't finish it until earlier this month, I'm mentioning it again. Finlay Donovan is Killing It by Elle Cosimano | Paperback: Murder mystery … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading March 2022

Me on Tuesday | 1 March

It was an upsetting week. We didn't have the words available to be able to console our Ukrainian friends. The car went in for its annual MoT and passedThe Brainy One and I introduced The Boy to the superb Band of BrothersThe Brainy One and I met my Sister-in-Love for brunchThe Parents/Teacher meeting happened over … Continue reading Me on Tuesday | 1 March

For the Love of Books | Currently Reading February 2022

The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel | paperback | I began this on 27th January, Holocaust Memorial Day, as it felt appropriate | an early contender for favourite read of the year. Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France ... Harmel reimagines their story. Perfect for readers of The Tattooist … Continue reading For the Love of Books | Currently Reading February 2022

Me on Monday | 21 February

It was half term week. The Boy and I spent a morning in the military history sections of Waterstones, Piccadilly and Hatchards :)The Colombian and I arranged a date to celebrate two family birthdaysThe Boy and I went to the cinema to see the superb BelfastThe Boy and I spent a night at my clubThe … Continue reading Me on Monday | 21 February